THE HUB

Kind of an ominous name. They also could have gone with “The Fremont Oubliette” or “The Fremont Panopticon”. I went there today hoping to buy a new jumbo canvas pad, which I’ll take a second to plug because they will change. your. life. The sheets are a dollar or less each usually, and the canvas can be high quality and either way will last for quite a while. Essential for art students. Okay, moving on.

Well, spoilers; they didn’t have it. And the lady there was all incredulous when I asked, like “canvas? in a PAD?? like canvas instead of paper???” but I will not hold it against her because I hated when people would ask if we had stuff when I worked at the thrift store.

Dejected, but not really, I hit up the rest of the stores at the shopping center. Of interest to me was the Hub Five and Ten and Daiso. These two stores are kind of weird reflections of each other, or rather the Hub Five and Ten is Daiso reflected in a weakly holographic plastic mirror. Which is to say it’s much less polished and much more crowded, but it has its own blaring primary colored charms.

FullSizeRender 29.jpg
The Hub had all these ill-maintained showcases advertising businesses that weren’t there anymore. Here a cruise line’s beanie baby mascots lie faded.
FullSizeRender 18.jpg
The first thing you see when you walk into the Five and Ten. All your basic needs.
FullSizeRender 22.jpg
They had Daiquiri scented soap and body spray. FYI: it smelled like daiquiri
FullSizeRender 19.jpg
I went to Hallmark to get Shopkick points for scanning everything and buying nothing. I saw these cute plushies! I didn’t know they were still making Rainbow Brite stuff.
FullSizeRender 20.jpg
Eraser versions of all your favorite things!
FullSizeRender 21.jpg
Daiso had these adorable drippy monster sandals for kids. MAKE THEM FOR ADULTS.

FullSizeRender 27.jpgFullSizeRender 30.jpg

IMG_0814.JPG
It seems like this spicy bath salt would hurt your sensitive parts. And turn you into a soup.
FullSizeRender 31.jpg
There was a huge tree with wires and hoses stuck into it in the parking lot!
IMG_0846.JPEG
I totally climbed it! It was like stairs, how could I not? You know those posts on tumblr that say CLIMB MORE TREES? Don’t. Unless it’s a tree like this. You could hurt yourself and the tree if it isn’t steady.

This photo doesn’t really give you a good idea of my outfit, so I have recreated it on polyvore minus the hoodie because ew. Some notes: I wanted to find my exact shoes, which are Danskin memory foam sneakers in the most lovely pastel blue. They were only like ten dollars at Wal-Mart and I wear them whenever I’m walking and need cute shoes. Also, my choker isn’t really a choker. It’s a beaded dollar store necklace that I cut down! Also, dolphin fashion is a serious point of nostalgia for me; I remember getting a dolphin charm bracelet as a kid when I was first really making my own jewelry choices. They make me think of beach motels and fried fish.

blog outfit
The two bags look is really useful in actuality. But you knew that. More bags, more carrying!
I got a fair amount of art supplies and other stuff today, mostly from the Five and Ten and Daiso. A few craft items are hidden in the interest of preserving surprise.
FullSizeRender 23.jpgFullSizeRender 28.jpgFullSizeRender 26.jpgIMG_0841.JPGIMG_0840.JPGFullSizeRender 32.jpg
The little frames are for postcards and mini-prints; finally I have a place to put the prints my friend I. got for me at a convention!
FullSizeRender 33.jpg
Tell me if you know whose art this is so I can source them!

In closing, here’s a sponsored curated collection of stuff you might find in a five and ten store, shoppable from the comfort of your own home.

 

https://www.mavenx.com/embed/board/7seqzFbWLAdHRKrKH

Leave a Reply

